Mark Rocha: The wrong choice for CCSF

Dear Colleagues,

The Board of Trustees decision to make Mark Rocha the leading candidate for Chancellor seems astonishingly tone-deaf.

Faculty at Pasadena Community College voted No Confidence in Mark Rocha. Votes of No Confidence are not undertaken by faculty lightly. The seriousness of Rocha’s offenses were confirmed when the Public Employees Relations Board (PERB) twice ruled that the Pasadena Community College had acted illegally under Rocha’s administration.

We are shocked that our Board of Trustees would insult our college community by choosing someone who has a proven record of ignoring student and faculty voices.

We have been through so much turmoil over the last five years at CCSF. We were hoping that our search for a permanent Chancellor would result in someone we could trust and respect.

Our suggestion is that the Board reconsider this ill-advised move and reject Mark Rocha and move towards hiring an interim Chancellor until we can find the candidate we all deserve.

We urge you to contact our Board members and let them know how disappointed you are.

President, Thea Selby: thea@nextstepsmarketing.com
Vice President, Brigitte Davila: bdavila@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Rafael Mandelman: rmandelman@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Alex Randolph: alexrandolph@ccsf.edu
Board Member, John Rizzo: jrizzo@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Tom Temprano: ttemprano@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Shanell Williams: swilliams@ccsf.edu

Thursday June 22nd at 4pm in MUB 140 is the Board of Trustees meeting where they will make a final decision. Come and let them know we deserve better.

In Unity,

Tim Killikelly
AFT 2121 President

Contact AFT 2121 at 415-585-2121 or visit us online at aft2121.org. Follow us on Facebook.
To update your email address, please let us know at aft@aft2121.org.

Please post, distribute, and otherwise share this information
with interested colleagues who may not be receiving emails.

Sent via ActionNetwork.org. To update your email address or to stop receiving emails from AFT 2121, please click here.
Posted in E-news Archives, President's message, Speak up

AFT 2121 Calendar

Read about

Contact us

Phone: 415-585-2121
Email: aft@aft2121.org.
Address: 311 Miramar Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112