

AFT 2121 Delegate Assembly Meeting Minutes January 26, 2021, 3-5 pm, Virtual meeting

Delegates: Malaika Finkelstein, Mary Bravewoman, Adam D'Acquisto, Adrienne Fong, Alan D'Souza, Alisa Messer, Alison Datz, Angelika Kasten, Armen Hovhannes, Beatriz Herrera. Bob Price, Carla Crocomo, claire brees, Constance Conner, Dayna Holz, Diane Wallis, Doug Orr, E. Simon Hanson, Eugene Gambol, Galina Gerasimova, Harry Bernstein, Holly Stevens, Karl Westerberg, Kathe Burick, Lijia Lumsden, Lily Lum, Marcia Weisbrot, Naomi Vanderkindren, Rhea Dellimore, Robin Pugh, Ronald Richardson, Stephen Brady, Susan Englander, Tanichya Wongprasert, Tehmina Khan, Timothy Killikelly, Tracy Ousdahl, Wendy Owens, Wynd Kaufmyn, Yvonne Whitelaw; Faculty: Adele Failes-Carpenter, Aditi Joshi, Alexandra Nickliss, Allan Fisher, Amber Straus, Andrea Niosi, Andrew King, Angie Fa, Augustus Barone, Breana Bahar Hansen, Christina Yanuaria, David Ga'oupu Matthew Palaita, David Pieper, Diego Gomez, Erez Powell, Geoff Brown, Kate Frei, Kyle Hill, Lillian Marrujo-Duck, Lizzie Brock, Marco Mojica, Marlen Delgado Vasquez, Michelle Gorthy, Mine Ternar, Patricia Miller, Paul Gallo, Rich Harlan, Rick Baum, Rodger Scott, Sandra Vaughn, Stephanie MacAller, Susana Atwood, Tenaya Lafore, Tonya Hough

Staff: Alayna Fredricks, Athena Waid, Spencer Jackson

Item

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Land acknowledgement
- 3. Meeting process and agreements discussed.
- 4. m/s/p Approval of Agenda as amended.
- 5. Officers' reports
 - Report from President Malaika Finkelstein.
 - Report from Vice-President Mary Bravewoman: 2021 CFT Convention announcement and election of delegates
 - Report from Treasurer Yvonne Whitelaw: AFT revenue and expense projections.
- 6. Affirmative Action Taskforce Report from Yvonne Whitelaw.
- 7. Organizing Team introductions: Spencer Jackson is the new staff organizer; Alan D'Souza and Beatriz Herrera will be faculty organizers this semester; Adele Failes-Carpenter is the new Political Director.
- 8. Bargaining: Strategy and Organizing
 Upcoming contract campaign was discussed, along with discussion of escalating tactics and possible actions to take. Followed by breakout sessions to practice one on one conversations with members to collect input and feedback. Delegates were encouraged to contact precinct members about filling out the Bargaining Survey.



- 9. m/s/p Appoint Eugene Gambol as Member at Large of the Executive Board, replacing James Tracy who is taking on Department Chair duties in Labor and Community Studies.
- 10. m/s/p Minutes of 12/15/20 as amended.
- 11. Announcements of upcoming events: Southeast Community Facility Commission (incl. Bayview Masterplan for Instruction), January 27; Evans Campus forum, January 27; Chancellor's Forum, January 27.
- 12. Adjourned 5:40 p.m.