

AFT 2121 Delegate Assembly Meeting Minutes January 25, 2022, 3-5 pm, Virtual Meeting

Delegates: Malaika Finkelstein, Mary Bravewoman, Yvonne Whitelaw, Dayna Holz, Adrienne Fong, Alan D'Souza, Alisa Messer, Alison Datz, Angelika Kasten, Armen Hovhannes, Beatriz Herrera, Billington Mbolo, Carla Crocomo, claire brees, Clare Heimer, Constance Conner, Diane Wallis, Doug Orr, E. Simon Hanson, Galina Gerasimova, Harry Bernstein, Holly Stevens, Jesse Kolber, Joe Berry, John Carrese, Karl Westerberg, Kathe Burick, Megan Sweeney, Michele Oross, Rhea Dellimore, Robin Pugh, Ronald Richardson, Stephen Brady, Tanichya Wongprasert, Tehmina Khan, Timothy Killikelly, Tracy Ousdahl; 22 Faculty Members; Staff: Athena Waid, Spencer Jackson

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Land acknowledgement by member Lori Admokom.
- 3. Meeting process and agreements discussed.
- 4. m/s/p Approval of Agenda.
- 5. Officers' reports
 - Report from President Malaika Finkelstein
 - Report from Vice President Mary Bravewoman
 - Report from Treasurer Yvonne Whitelaw
- 6. Affirmative Action Task Force update from Ron Richardson: currently examining how the District asks Diversity questions in hiring and constructing alternative questions; developing BIPOC faculty mentoring program; Chriss Yanuaria is the new AATF Chairperson.
- 7. m/s/p Approve appointment of Precinct 32 Representative Monique Comacchio to replace Naomi Vanderkindren, who has stepped down. (23 yes, 0 no, 2 abstain)
- 8. AFT 2121 leadership elections will be held this spring. We will be electing union officers, executive board members, Precinct Reps, Labor Council delegates, AFT National Convention delegates, and vote on amendments to the Constitution/By-Laws.

m/s/p Approve appointment of Election Commissioners Mitra Sapienza, Janey Skinner, Melissa McPeters, and Chad Stephenson (alternate). (23 yes, 0 no, 5 abstain)

m/s/p Approve tentative timeline for election. (22 yes, 0 no, 2 abstain)

9. Organizers reviewed our campaign goals and objectives, and what we're doing to build towards collective actions with majority participation.



10. Discussion of proposed amendment to the Constitution/By-Laws brought by delegates Tanichya Wongprasert and Constance Conner. Proposed amendment reads (proposed changes underlined):

Article XIII Committees

Section 1. There shall be the following Special Committees of the Union: Grievance, Budget and Membership. Members of these committees and any other committees shall be appointed by the President with the approval of the Executive Board, with the exception of the Election Committee, the Full-timer Committee, and the Parttimer Committee.

<u>Section 4. There shall be a standing Full-timer Committee. Membership is open to any Union members in good standing.</u>

Motion for the Delegate Assembly to put the proposed amendment on the ballot for a general membership vote failed. (9 yes, 22 no, 0 abstain)

- 11. Organizers reviewed our "plan to win" with a list of tactics and strategic steps, overlaid on an escalation chart in chronological phases. Our next structure test will involve an action directed at the Board of Trustees, preceding their anticipated February 24 vote on issuing layoff notices.
- 12. For the good of the order (Announcements)
 - a. Joe Berry announced the upcoming HELU (Higher Education Labor United) virtual summit on February 23-26.
 - b. Reminder to support David Campos for State Assembly, the candidate endorsed by our COPE.
- 13. m/s/p Approve minutes of 12/14/21.
- 14. Adjourn 5:20 p.m.