(Today, 4pm) Don’t gamble with CCSF’s future: Mark Rocha = too many red flags

Dear Colleagues,
Our CCSF Board of Trustees has named Mark Rocha as the leading candidate for permanent chancellor of our college.
Some are saying that hiring Rocha is a calculated risk, and that he’s the only candidate with experience. It’s not a calculated risk to hire Mark Rocha, it’s a guaranteed disaster. His record makes it clear that he stirs up trouble wherever he goes, and is no friend to students, faculty or staff.
The board can and should hire an interim chancellor while they put in the work to find a candidate for the chancellor position that we can trust.
If you’ve been following the issue, you may have already heard about the vote of no confidence by the Academic Senate, Faculty and Associated Students at Pasadena City College. New information has emerged from a prior post where faculty initiated a vote of no confidence against Rocha at Rancho Santiago Community College. Apparently, Rocha served as the president there for just 9 months, when he “left for similar reasons as reported by the facult y at Pasadena City College.”
You can see faculty testimony here (begin watching at 9:15 and end at 17:00).
We’ve got to do everything we can to stop Rocha’s appointment as our permanent chancellor. And we need your help to stop this disaster in the making. Can you join us at the Board of Trustees meeting TODAY on Ocean campus in MUB 140? The meeting begins at 4:00 PM, with public comment starting shortly after that.
If you can’t come to the meeting, please email your concerns directly to the board members:
President, Thea Selby: thea@nextstepsmarketing.com
Vice President, Brigitte Davila: bdavila@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Rafael Mandelman: rmandelman@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Alex Randolph: alexrandolph@ccsf.edu
Board Member, John Rizzo: jrizzo@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Tom Temprano: ttemprano@ccsf.edu
Board Member, Shanell Williams: swilliams@ccsf.edu

Contact AFT 2121 at 415-585-2121 or visit us online at aft2121.org. Follow us on Facebook.
To update your email address, please let us know at aft@aft2121.org.

Please post, distribute, and otherwise share this information
with interested colleagues who may not be receiving emails.

Sent via ActionNetwork.org. To update your email address or to stop receiving emails from AFT 2121, please click here.
Posted in E-news Archives

AFT 2121 Calendar

Read about

Contact us

Phone: 415-585-2121
Email: aft@aft2121.org.
Address: 311 Miramar Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112